If you have questions about Franchise And Excise Tax Online, contact
Tennessee Department of Revenue
Attention: Taxpayer Services
500 Deaderick Street
Nashville, Tennessee 37242
Phone: (615) 253-0700
1-800-342-1003 ln State Toll-Free
Credit cards accepted are MasterCard, American Express, Discover & Visa. A 2.35% processing fee will be added to your payment.
Yes. The Tenn. Code Ann. Section 67-1-1702 Confidentiality documentation states: Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, returns, tax information and tax administration information shall be confidential and, except as authorized by this part, no officer or employee of the state and no other person (or officer or employee thereof) who has or had access to such information shall disclose any such information obtained by such officer or employee in any manner in connection with such officer's or employee's service as an officer or employee, or obtained pursuant to the provisions of this part, or obtained otherwise. [Acts 1977, ch. 152, § 1; Tenn. Code Ann. Section, § 67-132; 2000, ch. 982, § 40.]
Franchise and Excise tax returns are due on or before the 15th day of the 4th month following the close of your books and records.
Quarterly estimated payments – Taxpayers with a combined Franchise and Excise tax liability of $5,000 or greater must make quarterly estimated payments by the 15th day of the fourth, sixth, and ninth months of the current tax year and the 15th day of the first month of the next succeeding tax year.
Extension – A 6-month extension of time to file is available upon request. Extensions must be filed on or before the 15th day of the 4th month following the close of your books and records.
Yes, you have to make a full payment with your filing. You must pay the full amount due via Automated Clearing House (ACH) debit or Credit Card. When warehousing payments past the due date of the return, interest and penalty, if applicable, will be assessed beginning the day after the due date of the return.
If you need to make a payment in excess of $99,999,999.99, please contact the Tennessee Dept. of Revenue at 1-866-368-6374.
Franchise tax – .25 cents per $100, or major fraction
thereof, of the greater of either net worth or real and tangible property in
The minimum tax is $100.
Excise tax – 6.5% of Tennessee taxable income.
The minimum franchise tax payable each year is $100 per Tenn. Code Ann. Section 67-4-2119. A taxable business that is inactive, but has not been legally terminated or withdrawn, must file a return and pay the minimum tax. Taxpayers that are actively doing business in Tennessee must complete a paper Franchise and Excise tax return to calculate the appropriate amount of tax.