Hall Income Tax Return Help and FAQs

Who to Contact for Help

x

Tennessee Department of Revenue
Attention: Taxpayer Services
500 Deaderick Street
Nashville, Tennessee 37242
Phone: (615) 253-0600
1-800-342-1003 ln State Toll-Free
Website: www.tn.gov/revenue

What forms of payment are accepted for my taxes due?

x

Methods of payment include Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT), American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa. To pay by EFT, you must have your bank's routing number and your checking account number, located on one of your checks. For all credit card payments, an additional 2.35% service fee will be added to your payment. There is no fee to use EFT.

What are my options for receiving my refund?

x

Tax refunds are mailed to the address you provide as your mailing address. If you have questions, contact the Refund Unit at (615) 741-0443.

What is the maximum payment I can make online?

x

If you need to make a payment in excess of $99,999,999.99, please contact the Tennessee Department of Revenue at 1-866-368-6374.

What is an affidavit for exemption?

x

Any person 65 years of age or older having a total annual income below specific limits is completely exempt from the tax. Total annual income means income from any and all sources, including social security. All income should be included, regardless of whether it is taxable for federal purposes. The income also should not be adjusted for any losses.

Total annual income limits are as follows:
Tax Year(s) Single Filers Joint Filers*
2000-2011 $16,200 $27,000
2012 $26,200 $37,000
2013 and after $33,000 $59,000

*One or both people should be age 65 or older.

What is tax distribution?

x

Three-eighths of Hall income tax collections are distributed among the city and county where the taxpayer resides. In order for the taxes to be properly distributed, please provide the name of the county and city (if you reside within an incorporated municipality) of your legal residence. Select the county where you live, then select the location of your residence from the choices provided in the "City/Area" box. If your legal residence is not in Tennessee, select "Out of State" as the county.

What if I do not want to calculate my penalty and interest?

x

The Tennessee Department of Revenue can calculate penalty and/or interest for you. If you think you owe penalty and/or interest but you do not want to calculate either or both yourself when you file your tax return, the Department of Revenue will do it for you and send you a bill.

What is "Desired Payment Date"?

x

Desired payment date is the date you want your tax payment to be debited from your bank account. This feature can only be used for current period filings. The Department's systems require the chosen date to be at least two days in the future. You cannot use this feature within two days of the tax due date, and your chosen date cannot be after the tax is due. This feature cannot be used when paying by credit card.

How do I obtain a FEIN?

x

The FEIN is a nine-digit number assigned by the IRS. The IRS requires this number to identify taxpayers who must file various business tax returns. FEINs are used by employers, sole proprietors, corporations, partnerships, nonprofit associations, trusts, estates of decedents, government agencies, certain individuals, and other business entities.

You can learn more and apply for a FEIN from the IRS Web site at:

http://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Apply-for-an-Employer-Identification-Number-(EIN)-Online

Why did I get a "session timeout" message?

x

For the security of your information, your online session with Hall Income Tax Online expires after 15 minutes of inactivity. The personal data you entered has been cleared, which prevents others using the same computer from obtaining your information. This does not mean that you must complete each page within 15 minutes. The session timeout only takes effect when you have not entered any data or moved to another page in the last 15 minutes.

Is all the information I provide confidential?

x

Yes. Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-1702, returns, tax information and tax administration information shall be confidential and, except as authorized by Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-1701 et seq., no officer or employee of the Tennessee Department of Revenue or of any office of a district attorney general or any state or local law enforcement agency, and no other person, or officer or employee of the state, who has or had access to such information shall disclose any such information obtained by such officer or employee in any manner in connection with such officer's or employee's service as an officer or employee.

How do I submit my written physician’s statement when claiming either the blind or quadriplegic exemption?

x

The statement can be sent either by mail or uploaded using the department’s portal when filing your tax return. Please provide your name and account number or social security number on the statement.

Mail the statement to:
Tennessee Department of Revenue
Attn: Hall Income Tax
Andrew Jackson Building
500 Deaderick Street
Nashville, TN 37242